La Chute – Proposed Boundaries

The name "La Chute" has its origin in the 17th century, referring to a waterfall (chute) on the North River in the former Seigneury of Argenteuil. In the late 18th century, the population consisted mainly of Loyalists who had fled the American Revolution, and the area was known as "The Chute Settlement." The name gradually changed to "La Chute," then "Lachute" (one word) in the 19th century.

(Population: 105,429)

Consisting of:

  • (a) the City of Mirabel;
  • (b) the Regional County Municipality of Argenteuil;
  • (c) that part of the Regional County Municipality of Deux-Montagnes comprised of: the municipalities of Oka, Pointe-Calumet, Saint-Joseph-du-Lac and Saint-Placide; including the Indian settlement of Kanesatake; and
  • (d) that part of the Regional County Municipality of La Rivière-du-Nord comprised of the Municipality of Saint-Colomban.

Please note that this application does not work correctly in Internet Explorer 8. Please use a newer version of Internet Explorer or another browser such as Firefox or Chrome.