Abitibi—Nunavik – Proposed Boundaries

The name was chosen for the sake of simplicity. The southern part of the electoral district covers part of Abitibi, while Nunavik comprises its northern part. The main city in the electoral district is Val-d'Or. The neighbouring electoral district of Abitibi—Témiscamingue has some large cities, including Amos and Rouyn-Noranda. The word "Abitibi" is already used in the names of two electoral districts on the electoral map established in 2002.

(Population: 85,475)

Consisting of:

  • (a) the Regional County Municipality of La Vallée-de-l'Or, including: Lac-Simon Indian Reserve; the Kitcisakik Indian settlement;
  • (b) the Equivalent Territory of Jamésie, including: the Cree village municipalities and the Cree reserved lands of Chisasibi, Eastmain, Mistissini, Nemiscau, Waskaganish, Waswanipi and Wemindji; the Indian settlement of Oujé-Bougoumou; and
  • (c) the Territory of the Kativik Regional Administration excepting that part lying southerly of latitude 56°00'N and easterly of longitude 70°00'W, including the Cree Village Municipality and the Cree Reserved Land of Whapmagoostui; the Nordic village municipalities of Akulivik, Aupaluk, Inukjuak, Ivujivik, Kangiqsualujjuaq, Kangiqsujuaq, Kangirsuk, Kuujjuaq, Kuujjuarapik, Puvirnituq, Quaqtaq, Salluit, Tasiujaq and Umiujaq.

Please note that this application does not work correctly in Internet Explorer 8. Please use a newer version of Internet Explorer or another browser such as Firefox or Chrome.