Proposed Boundaries – Ontario


The number of electoral districts represented in the House of Commons is derived from the formula and rules set out in sections 51 and 51A of the Constitution Act, 1867. This formula takes into account changes to provincial population, as reflected in population estimates in the year of the most recent decennial census. The increase to Canada's population in the past 10 years has resulted in a change to the total number of electoral districts represented in the House of Commons, from 308 to 338. Between the censuses of 2001 and 2011, the population of Ontario increased from 11,410,046 to 12,851,821. The number of electoral districts in Ontario increased from 106 to 121.

The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Ontario was established by proclamation on February 21, 2012, as required under the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. E-3, as amended). The Commission is an independent body with the responsibility to readjust the electoral boundaries in the province of Ontario after the completion of the decennial census. The Chairperson of the Commission, appointed by the Chief Justice of Ontario, is Mr. Justice George Valin of the Superior Court of Justice. The members of the Commission, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Commons, are Mr. Douglas Colbourne, an arbitrator and mediator from Toronto with extensive knowledge and experience in municipal matters across the province, and Dr. Leslie A. Pal, Chancellor's Professor of Public Policy and Administration at Carleton University.

Please note that this application does not work correctly in Internet Explorer 8. Please use a newer version of Internet Explorer or another browser such as Firefox or Chrome.