Meet Your Commission

The Honourable John E. Hall (Chair)

The Honourable John E. Hall (Chair)

The Honourable John E. Hall graduated from the University of Western Ontario Law School in 1963 and was called to the British Columbia Bar in 1964. He was called to the Yukon Bar in 1970. From 1965 to 1968, he was employed in the Office of the Vancouver City Prosecutor. From 1969 until his appointment to the British Columbia Supreme Court, he was an associate and partner in the firm of DuMoulin Black in Vancouver.

He acted as counsel to the Crown in the well-known case of mass murderer Clifford Olson. In 1978, he acted as counsel to the royal commission on female offenders and, in 1986, was appointed as commissioner of the federal inquiry investigating matters relating to the Westbank Indian Band and certain provisions of the Indian Act. In 1988, he acted as counsel to the British Columbia Corrections Branch during the inquiry before Mr. Justice Ian L. Drost concerning the Oakalla prison escape.

He was President of the Vancouver Bar Association in 1978. He received the title of Queen's Counsel in 1982. In 1985, he served as a member of the task force looking into legal aid matters and has, over the years, lectured for many Continuing Legal Education courses. He became a member of the American College of Trial Lawyers in 1985. He served as Supreme Court Judge for the Province of British Columbia between 1991 and 1997, and is presently a member of the British Columbia Court of Appeal.

Mr. Stewart Ladyman (Member)

Stewart Ladyman

Mr. Stewart Ladyman spent 33 years in the British Columbia public school system as a teacher, principal and superintendent of schools in five school districts, including a 6-year secondment to British Columbia's Ministry of Education. For the past 10 years he has provided a full range of professional services based on educational research and sound educational practices to school districts and Aboriginal independent schools throughout British Columbia. He has been a governor on the board of Science World, a director with the Irving K. Barber Scholarship Society, and is presently a director on the board of First West Credit Union, a multi-regional credit union. Mr. Ladyman also served on the 2006 British Columbia Electoral Boundaries Commission.

Dr. J. Peter Meekison (Member)

Dr. J. Peter Meekison (Member)

Dr. J. Peter Meekison is currently Chancellor and Board Chair of Royal Roads University. He is an adjunct professor of political science at the University of Victoria and Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of Political Science at the University of Alberta. Dr. Meekison served as Alberta's deputy minister of intergovernmental affairs for seven years and participated in both the Meech Lake Accord and Charlottetown Accord negotiations. In June 1986 he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada. In June 1993, he was named a commissioner on the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples.

Map Viewer

This service is currently unavailable due to maintenance